ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE 2021 HEVESY MEDAL AWARDEE

The Hevesy Medal Award Selection Panel 2021-2022 (HMASP-2021-2022) is pleased to announce that Professor Vladimir P. (kolotov@geokhi.ru) KOLOTOV Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences, in Moscow, Russia has been selected to receive the 2021 Hevesy Medal Award (HMA-2021) in recognition of his work on gamma-ray spectrometry, application of neutron and photon activation analysis to high-purity materials and environmental samples, and development of low-activation structural materials for different types of nuclear reactors.



The Hevesy Medal and a certificate will be presented to Professor KOLOTOV at the HMA-2021 Ceremony to be held at the 19th Radiochemical Conference (RadChem-2022) in Mariánské Lázně, Czech Republic during 2022 May 15-20.

The HMASP-2021-2022 consisted of Professor Amares CHATT (Canada, also Chair of JRNC Board of the Hevesy Award, and Chair of HMASP-2021-2022), Professor Tibor BRAUN (JRNC Board of the Hevesy Award), Professor CHAI Zhifang (China), Professor Elisabete A. De Nadai FERNANDES (Brazil), Professor Kattesh V. KATTI (U.S.A.), Dr. Stephen P. LAMONT (U.S.A.), Dr. Richard LINDSTROM (U.S.A.), Professor Yoshio TAKAHASHI (Japan), and Dr. Zsolt RÉVAY (Germany, also JRNC Board of the Hevesy Award). In accordance with the rules of the Award, a secret vote was conducted.

The George Hevesy Medal Award is the premier international award of excellence in radioanalytical and nuclear chemistry. It is named after George de HEVESY (1885-1966) who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1943 for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers in the study of chemical processes. The George Hevesy Medal is awarded to an individual in recognition of excellence through outstanding, sustained career achievements in the fields of pure as well as applied nuclear and radiochemistry, in particular applications to nuclear analytical chemistry. Established originally in 1968 by Professor Tibor BRAUN, Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Radioanalytical and Nuclear Chemistry (JRNC), the Hevesy Medal Award was given 19 times during 1968-86. This Award was reactivated in 2000 by Professors BRAUN and CHATT. It is sponsored by JRNC and administered as well as adjudicated by the JRNC Board of the Hevesy Award. The Award has no monetary value. The George Hevesy Medal Award comprises an engraved bronze medal and a certificate which are presented at a major international nuclear and radiochemistry conference.

List of Hevesy Medal Award Recipients (1968-2022):

- 1968 W. Wayne **MEINKE**
- 1969 Albert A. **SMALES**
- 1970 Ivan Pavlovich ALIMARIN
- 1972 Philippe **ALBERT** and Julien **HOSTE**
- 1975 Tibor **BRAUN** and Juraj **TÖLGYESSY**
- 1976 Francesco **GIRARDI**
- 1977 Saadia **AMIEL** and Richard E. **WAINERDI**1978 Robert E. **JERVIS**
- 1979 Vincent P. GUINN
- 1981 William S. LYON and Max PEISACH
- 1983 Edward V. SAYRE and Garman HARBOTTLE
- 1984 Georges **AMSEL**
- 1985 Nobuo **SUZUKI**
- 1986 Emile A. **SCHWEIKERT**
- 2000 Frans **DE CORTE**
- 2001 Amares CHATT and Eiliv STEINNES
- 2002 Enrico SABBIONI
- 2003 Jeroen J.M. **DE GOEIJ**2004 Attila **VÉRTES**
- 2005 Zhifang CHAI, Gregory CHOPPIN, and Nicholas M. SPYROU
- 2006 Jan KUČERA
- 2007 Robert R. GREENBERG
- 2008 Syed M. **QAIM**
- 2009 Richard M. LINDSTROM
- 2010 Darleane C. HOFFMAN
- 2011 Peter **BODE**
- 2012 Boris F. MYASOEDOV
- 2013 Rajmund S. **DYBCZYŃSKI**
- 2014 Heino NITSCHE
- 2015 Kattesh V. KATTI and Susanta LAHIRI
- 2016 Tomoko M. **NAKANISHI**
- 2017 Pavel P. **POVINEC**
- 2018 Rolf L. ZEISLER
- 2019 Xiaolin **HOU**
- 2020 Stefaan **POMMÉ**
- 2021 Vladimir KOLOTOV
- 2022 Frank **RÖSCH**

Announcement issued by:

Professor Dr. A. Chatt

Chair, Hevesy Medal Award Selection Panel 2021-2022

Chair, JRNC Board of the Hevesy Award

chatt@dal.ca

2021 December 05